2016 Electoral Ward Boundary Review

You are here

On September 6th, 2017, Town Council passed By-law Number 2017-0093 (AD-7), authorizing an alteration of ward boundaries for the Town of Georgina affecting Wards 1, 2 and 3. Wards 4 and 5 boundaries were not affected.
PDF icon 2018 Ward Boundaries (797.09 KB)

Ward Structure

The Town of Georgina Council is comprised of seven (7) members, including the Mayor and the Regional Councillor/Deputy Mayor, who are elected at-large, and five (5) local Ward Councillors.

PDF icon Ward 1 (793.12 KB)

PDF icon Ward 2 (789.77 KB)

PDF icon Ward 3 (914.32 KB)

Guiding Principles

The Ward Boundary Review was developed in accordance with the following principles:

  • Representation by Population – Ensure that every Councillor generally represents an equal number of constituents while allowing for some variation;
  • Representation of Communities of Interest – Ward boundary lines should have regard for recognized settlement areas, traditional neighbourhoods and community groupings;
  • Recognition of Future Growth – Consider future changes in population to keep wards as balanced as possible;
  • Representation of Physical Features as Natural Boundaries – Wards should be coherent and contiguous in shape and use major natural and man-made features as boundaries, where possible;
  • Effective Representation – Recognize the overarching principle of “effective representation” to ensure that residents have an effective voice in decision-making; and
  • Electorate Distribution – Equal and equitable representation by eligible electors across the wards.