Town honours Volunteer Award of Merit recipients

The Town of Georgina honoured members of the community with the 2020-21 Volunteer Award of Merit at a ceremony at the ROC on Friday, May 27, 2022. The pandemic prevented the Town from recognizing volunteers in 2020, so these awards honour individuals, teams and groups who volunteered in 2020 or 2021.

“The Volunteer Award of Merit recognizes people who have contributed to the betterment of the local community and Georgina as a whole,” said Mayor Margaret Quirk. “Volunteers have a tremendous effect on the strength of our community. Their passion and actions make a positive impact, and I want to thank the award recipients for all the good work they do every day.”

The Town also recognized Lorraine Hackenbrook as the 2020-21 Citizen of the Year. She has been involved in a variety of volunteer activities for many years. Some of these volunteer activities included:

  • Coached baseball for many years
  • Club 55 Sutton
  • Georgina Terry Fox Run
  • Hospice Georgina
  • Numerous boards and fundraising committees
  • Local school breakfast clubs
  • Received the Senior Citizen of Character Award

The following is a list of the Volunteer Award of Merit recipients:
Individual Award of Merit

  • Dave Atkinson
  • Pat Brennan
  • Fred Foster
  • Ashley Hatt
  • Bobby Murdoch
  • Don Philp
  • Nelly Seidel
  • Mona Steitieh
  • Merla Sulit
  • Terry Windsor

Youth Award of Merit

  • Alyssa Charlton
  • Keesha Rajkumar

Organization Award of Merit

  • Good Food Collective
  • Georgina Military Museum
  • Georgina Pride
  • Georgina Pop Up Breakfast Club
  • Shades of Hope Wildlife Refuge
  • SOS Georgina

Business Award of Merit

  • Belvedere Cookhouse
  • Canadian Tire Keswick
  • Corner House Bistro
  • McDonald’s Keswick

Contact Us

26557 Civic Centre Rd,
Keswick, ON  L4P 3G1

T: 905-476-4301 / 705-437-2210
F: 905-476-8100

Hours of Operation

Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.