2018/2019 Important Dates

You are here

2018

Tuesday May 1, 2018

  • First day for candidates to file a Nomination paper for the office of Mayor, Councillor or School Board Trustee.

·       First day for an individual or entity to file a Notice of Registration as a Third Party Advertiser.

  • Campaign period begins once a Nomination paper or Notice of Registration is filed.
  • Preliminary expense limit and other information provided by Clerk’s office to Candidates or Third Party Advertisers on the day they file.

Friday July 27

  • Last day for a candidate to file a Nomination.
  • 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. – Nominations or withdrawal cannot be accepted beyond 2 p.m.

Monday July 30

  • Certification of Nomination papers to be completed by 4 p.m.
  • Declaration of Acclamation provided after 4 p.m.
  • After the Certification of the candidates, Proxy appointment forms available for electors who cannot vote on any of the voting days.

Tuesday September 4

  • Voters’ list available to certified candidates.

Tuesday September 25

  • Final expense limits provided to candidates and Third Party Advertisers.

Friday October 19

  • Last day for an individual or entity to file a Notice of Registration as a Third Party Advertiser.

Monday October 22

  • Voting Day, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Saturday December 1

  • First Day of Term

Wednesday December 5

  • Inaugural Meeting of Council

Monday December 31

  • Campaign period ends for Candidates and Registered Third Party Advertisers
  • Last day for candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers to file an Extension of Campaign Period (Form 6).

2019

Wednesday February 27

  • Last day for Clerk to provide Notice of Financial Filing requirements and penalties to candidates and Registered Third Party Advertisers.

Thursday March 28

  • Last day for Candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers to apply to Superior Court of Justice to extend the time to file a Financial Statement.

Friday March 29

  • By 2 p.m.:
    • Last day to file Financial Statement for reporting period ending December 31, 2018 – applies to all Candidates and Registered Third Party Advertisers.
    • Last day for Candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers to notify Clerk of filing extension received from the Superior Court of Justice.

Monday April 1

  • 90 day compliance audit period begins.
  • Start of 30 day period in which a Candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers may file the primary Financial Statement and pay a $500 late filing fee.

Monday April 29

  • Last day (by 2 p.m.) for Candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers to file a primary financial statement and pay $500 late filing fee.
  • Penalties take affect at 2:01 p.m.

Tuesday July 2

  • Last day to request a compliance audit on a primary Financial Statement.
  • End of supplementary campaign period.

Wednesday August 28

  • Last day for Clerk to provide notice of supplementary filing requirements and penalties to Candidates or Registered Third Party Advertisers.

Thursday September 26

  • Last day for Candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers to apply to Superior Court of Justice to extend the time to file the Financial Statement.

Friday September 27

  • By 2 p.m.:
    • Last day to file Financial Statement for reporting period ending July 2, 2019 – Note:  this only applies to those who filed a Form 6 to extend the campaign period.
    • Last day for Candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers to notify Clerk of filing extension received from the Superior Court of Justice.

Monday September 30

  • 90 day compliance audit period begins.
  • Start of 30 day period in which a candidate or registered third party may file the supplementary Financial Statement and pay a $500 late filing fee.

Monday October 28

  • Last day (by 2 p.m.) for Candidate or Registered Third Party Advertisers to file a supplementary financial statement and pay $500 late filing fee.
  • Penalties take affect at 2:01 p.m.

Monday December 30

  • Last day to request a compliance audit on a Supplementary Financial Statement.