ARE YOU RUNNING FOR REGIONAL COUNCIL?

DID YOU KNOW? A candidate elected for the Office of Mayor or Regional Councillor in a local municipality earns a seat on both local and regional councils for four years.

REGIONAL GOVERNMENT

The authority of regional government in Ontario is established by the Municipal Act. 2001.

York Region is one of six regional governments in Ontario. A regional government is an upper-tier municipality that is a federation of the local, lower tier municipalities within its boundaries. York Region is comprised of these nine cities and towns:

Town of Newmarket

Town of Aurora Town of East Gwillimbury Town of Georgina Township of King

City of Richmond Hill City of Vaughan Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville

City of Markham

Regional and local governments provide different services to residents based on jurisdiction granted by the Municipal Act. Regional municipalities provide services that are best delivered across wide areas, or those requiring large-scale coordination. The table below illustrates the types of services provided by York Region and its nine cities and towns.

YORK REGION

Children's Services

Forestry Housing

Long-Term Care*

Paramedic Services

Police Services **Court Services**

Public Health Social assistance

Transit

LOCAL CITIES AND TOWNS

Building Fire Libraries Licensing

Parks, Recreation and Heritage

Storm Water Drainage and

Management

Bylaw Enforcement

Borrowing / Tax Collection

Economic Development

Emergency Planning

Planning

Roads

Waste Management

Water



^{*} Regional Council members sit on a Committee of Management that provides governance oversight for the Region's two Long-Term Care Homes. The new Fixing Long-Term Care Act, 2021 requires members of the Committee to successfully clear a criminal record check and to provide a declaration to the Region disclosing acts of professional misconduct.