Town honours 2023 Volunteer Award of Merit recipients

The Town of Georgina honoured members of the community with the 2023 Volunteer Award of Merit at a ceremony at the ROC on Thursday, May 16, 2024. 

“Volunteers play a vital role in our community and help make it a better place,” said Mayor Margaret Quirk. “The Volunteer Award of Merit recognizes people who have made outstanding contributions to our Town. Volunteers play a vital role in so many of our local organizations who rely on their support to be able to provide services to our residents. I was honoured to be able to recognize former Councillor Stephen Pallett with the Citizen of the Year award. I would like to thank all the award recipients for their generosity and the incredible work they do every day.”

The Town recognized former Councillor Stephen Pallett as the 2023 Citizen of the Year. He passed away in March of this year. He had a passion for farming that spanned nearly five decades. He served as vice president at the Red Barn Theatre in Jackson's Point and chaired the Committee of Adjustment for the Town of Georgina. Pallett also served on the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority and was a dedicated community volunteer, activist and supporter of the arts. 

The following is a list of the Volunteer Award of Merit recipients: 

Individual Award of Merit

  • Denise Sheedy
  • Frank Tuttle
  • Trish Mulholland
  • Susan Hutchinson
  • Wendy Busby

Youth Award of Merit

  • Fallon LaPorte
  • Fenton Young
  • Abigail Vahey

Community organization Award of Merit

  • ClearWater Farm
  • Junior Optimist Club of Keswick
  • Optimist Club of Keswick

Business Award of Merit

  • Connors Music
  • EM Convenience
  • Learning Centre for Georgina
  • Taps N Tracks

Contact Us

26557 Civic Centre Rd,
Keswick, ON  L4P 3G1

T: 905-476-4301 / 705-437-2210
F: 905-476-8100

Hours of Operation

Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.