Georgina Environmental Advisory Committee

You are here


Each Term of Office, the Town of Georgina Council invites community members to sit on the Georgina Environmental Advisory Committee (GEAC).

The Georgina Environmental Advisory Committee (GEAC) is an environmental advisory body that will promote the stewardship, preservation, conservation, protection and enhancement of the natural environment in the Town of Georgina. The GEAC utilizes an ecosystem-based approach to:

  • Advise Council and staff of the Town of Georgina and seek public input on environmental issues referred from Council and/or staff;
  • Undertake projects on behalf of the Town of Georgina at the direction of Council;
  • Provide feedback to Council on issues initiated by the Committee
  • Undertake educational initiatives that promote environmental awareness

Terms of Reference

The Committee’s Terms of Reference outlines the purpose, general activities, and membership responsibility. PDF icon Georgina Enviromental Advisory Committee Terms of Reference (430.25 KB)

Committee Composition

The GEAC consists of 7 members including 1 member of Council and 6 citizens with professional expertise respecting environmental management and/or personal interest in the environment.

The length of term for a person appointed to the GEAC shall be for the Council Term of Office.

Current GEAC Members

  • Councillor Dave Neeson, Chair
  • Kelly Mingram, Vice Chair
  • Lee Canavan
  • Neil Comer
  • Gary Heine
  • Mark Payne
  • Rebecca Wheater

The GEAC meets every month in the Civic Centre Council Chambers.

For assistance and information please contact the Committee Services Coordinator by email at or telephone at 905-476-4301.

Agendas and Minutes

Please visit the GEAC Agendas and Minutes web-page.

PDF icon Ontario Protecting the Environment and Fighting Climate Change (48.87 KB)


Attached Documents: